The shield symbol indicates “shared” blocks among your followers. If a user has been blocked by several people in your network, there will be a ! icon on that person’s user profile to flag them.
These flags are personalized to you and are intended to help you decide who to follow or bring on stage.
To learn more about how blocking works, the following articles are recommended: